Written by webtechs

Seven Stages Of Dementia

If you’re searching for “dementia stages” or the “stages of dementia” this article will help you understand this condition better. From the early stages of dementia through the end stage of dementia you’ll learn about how you can tell and what actions might be considered.  Most people have heard of dementia but don’t realize there are seven stages of dementia or know what the signs of symptoms of dementia are.

Seven Stages of Dementia

There are seven stages of dementia under the global deterioration scale which are all characterized by different levels of memory loss and ability to function without assistance.  Families and physicians are able to tailor their approach for care of these individuals by identifying which stage they are in.While many times it is simplified into “early stage”, “middle stage”, or “late stage” dementia there are finer points that change the way doctors care for these seniors.

The stages start with 3 stages which are categorized as “no dementia” and include healthy.  This scale is most applicable for seniors suffering from Alzheimer’s disease, as other types of dementia will not always include memory loss.

Stage 1 Dementia

Stage 1 dementia is characterized by healthy people with no signs of any dementia, no memory loss, and are functioning normally.

Stage 2 Dementia

Stage 2 dementia includes people who normally forget things and is usually caused by natural aging. These people will forget where they put things and names of casual associations.  Symptoms are mild and rarely noticed by doctors or even loved ones.

Stage 3 Dementia

Stage 3 dementia is described as increased forgetfulness, decreased performance at work, and slight difficulty concentrating.  Stage 3 individuals will have more trouble finding words and may get lost more often.  This stage is usually noticed by loved once as marked cognitive decline.  Stage 3 lasts about 7 years before the onset of early stage dementia.

Stage 4 Dementia – Early Dementia

Stage 4 is considered “early dementia”, and is described as having trouble remembering recent events, increased difficulty concentrating, trouble traveling alone, and problems managing personal finances.   Many people who are struggling to handle complex tasks correctly or efficiently might be in denial about their decline.  This leads to decreased perceived self worth followed by decreased social interaction.  Physicians are able to clearly diagnose this stage through interviewing patients in exams.  This stage lasts about 2 years.

Stage 5 Dementia

The fifth stage of dementia includes people who have major memory deficiencies and need some help with their daily activities.  These activities may include preparing meals, bathing, and dressing. Memory loss in stage 5 is more pronounced and will likely include major relevant aspects of life.  People in stage 5 may forget their phone number, home address, and might not know where they are or what time it is.  This stage lasts usually about 18 months.

Stage 6 Dementia – Middle Stage Dementia

As the second stage of “middle stage dementia”, stage 6 is describe as people who need extensive help to carry out daily activities.  These seniors will not likely remember recent events and will start to forget the names of close friends and family.  These people may only be able to remember details from their earlier life.  Finishing tasks becomes more difficult and they also might not be able to count backwards from 10.  Incontinence is also a common issue at this stage.  Additional characteristics of stage 6 include: compulsions, anxiety, agitation, personality changes, diminished speaking, and having delusional beliefs.  The average duration of stage 6 is 2.5 years.

Stage 7 Dementia – Late Stage Dementia

The final stage of dementia is stage 7.  This is when seniors have no ability to communicate or speak.  They require round the clock assistance for activities including eating, using the restroom, and bathing.  Loss of psychomotor skills is common which includes the ability to walk.  This stage typically lasts about 2.5 years.

Phoenix Valley Dementia Care

If you have a loved one who’s suffering from dementia it can be a stressful experience to provide care for them.  As seniors progress through the stages of dementia the task can become a full time, round the clock job.  Our staff cares for dementia residents in our Memory Care Facilities in the Phoenix Valley.  Staff is on hand 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and takes care of all of the various needs associated with the stages of dementia.  Residents are compassionately cared for and their ability levels are respected.  Click here for more information about our Memory Care Communities.